New to soap making. Could use help.

Courtney89

Hi everyone. I'm new to CP soapmaking. So far I've only made one batch and it was out if a kit from Brambleberry. It head their quick mix in it. I've found a few recipes I'd like to try. I've been educating myself since January on the subject. I'd like my soap on the harder side and I'm having trouble figuring out what would be the best temperature to work with a certain recipe. I've heard that it depends on the recipe. Could you please tell me what you think about these recipes. I did not come up with these. They're just some beginner ones I found.

Recipe #1

25% palm oil

25% coconut oil

25% olive oil

10% canola oil

10% sunflower oil

5% castor oil

Recipe #2

40% olive oil

30% coconut oil

20% Palm oil

5% sweet almond oil

5% castor oil

A saponification calculator, like soapcalc.net will become your best friend. Each oil has its own set of properties (fatty acid profiles) which bring something to the party. Each oil has a “Saponification value”, which tells you how. Much lye is needed to turn that pot of oils into soap.

When starting out, one of the best things I learned from was single oil batches.  I’d make 1 lb batches of common oils, like olive, coconut, lard, etc. to understand how each one behaves on its own. I could later grate and mash up different proportions of those individual soap into a new bar and see how they behave together. This works really well for liquid soap, too, by the way.

Then I moved on to simple, but oh so excellent basic recipes, like  trinity of 50% olive, 25% palm and 25% coconut. This basic set of oils is so easy to modify to really learn. Once you master it, exchanging liquids for milks, for instance, gives entirely new soap, using very simple and affordable, long life oils.  I used this formula in my somewhat soap-world famous Lather Lovers Swaps which have made the rounds on Facebook groups.