Care to share your recent coco wax test results?

lenarenee

Hello everyone! I'm kicking myself for not using paper and pencil for keeping notes because a major MS update on my computer screwed it up so much it can't completely be fixed. (hello Linux)

I've done a few more tests myself with straight coco 83 and different wicks and so far my favorite has been the small booster wooden wicks.  Second place goes to eco 4 and 6, but not really happy with them, 4 is a little too small I think, and 6 has a dancing flame and mushrooming. The cd wicks burned only one side of the candle. I've lost the specifics of all of the testing and I'm sure there's many forgotten details

I'm wondering if it's time for me to start combining this wax with soy or beeswax. How are your experiments going?  Any suggestions on which waxes that have worked for you?  (my goal is only to make candles for myself, so shipping cocowax isn't a problem)

FYI: I'm a 3 month rookie so weigh my feedback accordingly ;)

I couldn't find a suitable wick for straight coco83. 

So far I've only thoroughly tested a beeswax blend with wood wicks.
All my tests are in a 3.10" dia. straight tumbler with coco83 as the main wax:
So with wooden wick and a 3% beeswax blend:
Best w/ original wick - 030./ 3/8" or 1/2" for lively crackle or dual wick 3/8" for a mellower crackle
The boosted wicks gave me more wax browning, more debris and tended to hiss too much for my taste. 
The set up above worked well with fragrance oils and with essential oils.(LV, YY, PATCH)  The EO candles were divine- and potent! 

I also tried small ribbon wicks which actually burned very well in the 3% beeswax blend but are limited in size options and too hard to trim deeper in the container so I won't be using them in the future.

I'm now testing regular wicks with:
3% beeswax + 5% stearic-  just started burn tests with CD's
10% just stearic-  nope-didn't work, killed the throw