Switching from GW 444 to C3

Hi all, I’m fairly new to making candles. I bought 150 lbs of GW 444 and have used them all. Friends and family are happy with them. However, I am switching to C3 since Ive seen that it’s more of a true one pour . I was getting a lot of sink holes in the 444 unless I poured at lower than 107, I was initially pouring at 135 and worked my way down.  Ive read up on the C3 wax and am concluding to heat to 185, add my FO (haven’t decided my % since I’m seeing anywhere between 6-8.5%) and pour at 125. I got the Premier 775 wicks since my container are 4” in diameter. Does anyone have any suggestions for me with this wax? Thank you

I used C3 for about 7-8 years. I cannot stand several things about it:

1) the tiny champagne bubbles. If you stir (who doesn't) and it cools as you do so, tiny bubbles will appear throughout the candle. They make foam around the candle as it burns, and if you heat gun tops at all all those tiny bubbles toward the surface are a bugger to smooth out. I use a wide rubber spatula to gently move the FO and not introduce bubbles. The lecithin emulsifier in the wax just makes bubbles. 

2) it is finicky to heat. I have a jacketed melter. If I get the wax to temp of 185 and begin to pour it smells like old fryolator oil, which carries through to the finished candles. I noticed this even in presto pots. You can't leave it warm for any length of time.

3) it can crater like a demon. It's as bad as 444. I have to pour very cool or it will appear beautiful on the top, and holey underneath all throughout the candle)

4) throw is not as good for me as 444. Well my November lot of 444 anyway. 

5) it frosts just as bad as others. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1
  • Sad 1