Soy Wax for Lotion Bars & Massage Candles

Hi, I am relatively new to candle & tart making but seem to be getting the hang of it. I want to try making a massage candle & found links to Soapqueen’s recipes on this forum. It seems a lot like making lotion bars. 

My question is on soy waxes. I have 2 blends that I know can’t be used - a parasoy & GB 464. However, I also have some GB 402 on the way for another project. From what I’ve read, this is pure soy, has a low melt point and is FDA approved. I’ve seen conflicting thoughts on using it in cosmetics (lotion bars & massage candles), though. 

Is there any reason not to use 402 in skincare products? I specifically want a low melt point. And I really don’t want to buy more wax just for a few massage candles for personal use. 

Thoughts? 

• 2 weeks later...

The GB 415 is 100% hydrogenated soybean oil, which does not pose a significant risk for skin reactions, but be cautious against labeling it as skin-safe for liability reasons.

Without it being dermatologically tested and approved, you could be held responsible if someone were to have a reaction when using your product.

GB 464 and 444 both have added additives... If you make them for yourself I'm sure it's fine, if you sell them I would look for a wax that is skin safe. 

On 1/8/2018 at 10:51 AM, strugglebrother said:

The GB 415 is 100% hydrogenated soybean oil, which does not pose a significant risk for skin reactions, but be cautious against labeling it as skin-safe for liability reasons.

Without it being dermatologically tested and approved, you could be held responsible if someone were to have a reaction when using your product.

GB 464 and 444 both have added additives... If you make them for yourself I'm sure it's fine, if you sell them I would look for a wax that is skin safe. 

Thanks so much. I don't plan to sell these, so I'm fine taking a risk on myself. LOL! I totally agree on the risk on labeling.