Paraffin In Pillars

I've been making candles now for about 6 months. I've seen so many different ideas on which wax to use in pillars, in particular paraffin. Is it absolutely necessary to make probe holes everytime to fill the shrinkage area inside? Should I only do that if I see evidence such as a visible hole after the candle has cooled? I've got plenty  of questions, but this will do for now

With paraffin pillars yes, it is. Because even if you don't see shrinkage, paraffin cools at different rates and the top can be perfectly flat, however inside can be huge caverns that need to be filled, otherwise when burning the wick can hit one of those air pockets and do one of several different things. 

A) go out - best case scenario

B ) burn off center causing a lopsided and uneven burn, 

C) flop over causing something beside the pillar to catch fire

D) spill molten wax down the side of the pillar and onto whatever surface you are burning the pillar on. 

And several more I'm sure I'm forgetting to mention. 

It only takes a second to poke relief holes, and only a few more to fill them in once the relief holes are poked, so it's just easier to do IMO than have an iffy/unsafe candle. 

• Like 3

I always run a probe down around the wick as the candles are cooling...two or three times during the drying process...only takes a minute.  Then when I do my final repour I dig around the wick again......but then, what else do I have to do while I'm waiting to unmold my creations...lol.

• Like 1

I've seen all of the above case scenarios happen with my pillars. So yes I do poke around the top looking for air pockets. But you can usually tell where one is when you see an indentation start to form on top layer of wax. You can start poking as soon as the wax has cooled but is still warm. Just remember to pour the repour wax 10 degrees hotter than the original pour temp to help the new layer bind with the old.