NatureWax Elite 200 Soy Container Wax

Hi, I'm new to candle making and find reading the forums here very useful.

Apologies if I'm missing it, but I cannot find anyone talking about a soy blend I only find at Filmore Container called NatureWax Elite 200. Maybe I searched using the wrong terms.

I wanted to get into candle making and started with 464 and supplies from candle science. Seemed easy enough to make - perfectly smooth but after test burning the candles always looked like cottege cheese on top. After researching a lot it appears that most everyone accepts this type of look with soy.

Since then I've tried mixing paraffin with it, trying one 100% soy and still wasnt pleased with the results. The jars I wanted to use 8oz anchor hocking were available at Filmore so I wanted to try to get my wax from the same vendor to combine shopping. They have golden waxes or C1,C3 and this Elite 200. The elite was more expensive so I decided to give it a shot hoping more expensive means more better. I just poured a sample this week so I haven't allowed a lot of curing time, but the tops are perfect after each 2-3 hour burn and cool. I can't speak for HT since the FO has had no cure time either. Overall this has been my best wax experience. In the glass jar it did have some adhesion/wet spots and a little wax buildup on the wick which took 10 seconds to fix with a hair dryer on low. One sample I used the hairdryer on the sides that looked like wet spots and air bubbles rose to the top and the candle looked great. I did notice after several burns the wet spots come back after cooling. I think in my scenario a label might cover up most of that, plus in tins it won't be an issue at all. 

So, anyone else using this regularly or another soy blend that isn't a headache?

I can go into more specifics about my experience with it.

But would love to discuss with another user. 

• 1 month later...