August 2016 Soap of the Month

puma52

Oasis Hot Process Spa Sea Salt Soap

large.IMG_0923CROPPEDuse.jpg

I love making hot process soap. I want those who want to try cold process or hot process soapmaking to know that I am not a pro at soapmaking. But, anyone who can read, measure and follow simple safety precautions can make their very own exquisite, luxurious and creamy soap. So, I am here to encourage you to try either of these methods. From the moment I seen those glorious soap bubbles coming from MY first handmade soap, I was hooked and I have never used an over the counter soap since. You will be hooked from the start as I was. Sea salt bars are not the most easily made soap by any means. I have been defeated by this method a couple of times because of the adding of the cool sea salt and two weeks ago was the most recent.  I could have made easier soaps for Soap of the Month, but I considered this a challenge and as creators of everything good for our customers, we know we need to be constantly learning and working on being the best we can be. I definitely still have some learning to do on this and I am determined to get this hot process salt bar figured out...I'm getting closer. I feel that I did pretty good on this one and wanted to share with you.

IMG_0824usethis500.jpg

If you are thinking of making hot process soap, you need to purchase The Everything Soapmaking Book by Alicia Grosso. This is an excellent book to read that explains the process of soapmaking and will help you understand much better the process of how to make it. She has some great recipes in there too. :) A notebook to hold all of your recipes is a must. Make notes of your process, if you add something or do something different to the process of making your soap, make notes....lots of notes. Your notes will be worth the price of gold....you will never forget anything that is important for making your awesome soap recipe.

IMG_0822USETHIS.jpg