Differences between FOs and suggested percentage use

I recently ordered a large amount of 4627 wax --I got a deal too good to pass up. I had previously played around with a sample amount of it in addition to 6006, 4630 and 4633. I have seen a lot of information about how much FO to add, anywhere from 6% or 1oz per pound all the way up to 10 or 12%. It seems the general consensus is that 10/12% is overkill. I am a veteran MP soapmaker and have a large amount of FOs that are skin-safe but can also be used in candles. I know all FOs are different and require a lot of testing depending on the wax and wick used, but Is it safe to make the general assumption that "candle only" FO is the strongest and therefore best to use at 6% while FOs that are skin-safe are weaker and may need to be used at a higher percentage like 8%?

I've never had to use more than 6% FO in any candle I've made (most of the time I can use 5% with no problems), whether it's a skin safe FO or not. 

I've had FO's that were not skin safe, designated candle only, that would not throw no matter what I did, and some skin safe FO's that were very weak or faded in B&B applications but blow the doors off while burning in a candle. 

I really think it depends on type of FO, supplier and manufacturer, and doesn't really have a whole lot to do with whether it's skin safe or not. 

• Like 4

Guest OldGlory

I would not assume that the candle only fragrances are stronger in wax than soap safe fragrances.

One of the differences between not skin safe and skin safe is how the ingredients react on the skin. Some ingredients are known irritants.

And, like Jcandle, I use a 5.5% - 6% FO load in my candles. You might have a fragrance that won't throw at 5% or 8% or 11%. And you might have a fragrance that will throw better at 4% than 10%. Every fragrance oil is different and requires thorough testing for throw and for wicking.