WTH?!!! ANTS!!

Has this ever happened to anyone? I had 2-10lb slabs of 3022 still sealed in the cardboard box it was shipped in with packing tape, stored in a plastic, closed bin. I went to open a new slab and found the inside of container covered with black ants...I took it outside, sprayed all the ants, then opened up the sealed boxes and both slabs were just covered in ants. Needless to say, all 20lbs and bin were tossed into trash and a serious vacuuming and spraying commenced. This wax had been stored for about 3 months in my bdrm...I moved the bed, dresser, everything and I found no traces of food or wrappers or anything and only the wax had ants.

Is it because the wax may have a blend of veggie oils? This never happened with C3 or the paraffins :/

Guest OldGlory

I have no experience with 3022, but the very first wax I used attracted mice. When I inquired (with the supplier) I found out that the very wax I was using was also used in making PIZZA DOUGH. YIKES. My belief is that with natural waxes come problems you might expect with foods.

However, in your situation, it almost sounds like the ants came with the wax. I would definitely talk to the supplier.

I was in that bin a month ago and there were no ants at that time. The only thing I can think of is the veggie oils in the blend must've went bad or something, idk...weird. Pretty upset about having to trash all that wax though, now I'm afraid to order more :/

Dawn, let me know how yours is when you open it, very curious!

I had a strawberry candle sitting on my chest of draws in my bedroom and it had ants all over it...I thought it might be the sweet strawberry smell that attracted them? Its the only ant problem Ive had.

I did sprinkle ant sand behind my chest and Ive had nothing since.

Bummer you had to throw it out :(

• Like 1