Room Temp Soaping

7 Pawz

Is there anyone using the room temp soapmaking method?   If you do, what do you like about it ?       If you've tried it and don't like it, what is it you don't like about it ? 

Sometime back i read a posting about soapmaking at room temps, did a little more research and decided to try it.  As I am a beginner, meaning I just do the basics, nothing advanced like swirling(someday :), this method of soapmaking intrigued me.    I am using Olive oil, coconut oil and veg shortening.    I've good results so far out of about 6 batches made.  I don't dye my soap and so far the fo haven't created any problems.

Guest OldGlory

I make RTCP. i like it because there's no need to measure the temperature of the ingredients - one less step I suppose.

There are some who use the heat of the lye water to melt the solid fats but I don't know the ins and outs of that process. That's something I'd like to try one day.

I love it!! Main reason is I masterbatch both my oils and my lye, so they are already at RT when I weigh them out. 

For me, it's less time consuming. Measure, mix, pour - done. Walk away and wait to unmold...

No time spent in waiting for the lye to cool down, no extra time taken melting my hard oils - which stay slushy to liquid in my MB. 

I have also noticed that slightly finicky FO's behave much better in RT oils (I add my FO to my oils before adding my lye) they dont' accelerate as much, or misbehave as often. 

I will rarely soap above RT and when I do it's only if I'm making HP, and/or making a batch of soap at the same time I'm making my masterbatches. 

I make RTCP. i like it because there's no need to measure the temperature of the ingredients - one less step I suppose.

There are some who use the heat of the lye water to melt the solid fats but I don't know the ins and outs of that process. That's something I'd like to try one day.