Cut and Curl as a business

I have been visiting here for a few months, have learned a lot from you all just by reading, and really enjoy the posts - you all love your craft,aren't afraid to help others,  and it shows!  I have noticed that there are not too many candle carvers on here, though.  I was wondering if there was any specific reason, or maybe not?  Also, has anyone tried carving candles as a business, and if so, how was it?  We have our first show this weekend, and hope to start building relationships.  Thank all of you for the learning opportunities!

One of our older members, Bruce Carves Wax, has made a great business with carved candles.  He's a busy man and just doesn't get the chance to post anymore.  Other than Bruce, I personally don't know of any long term carvers on here.  I think there are a few newer carvers around and hopefull someone will jump in to help. 

Another person who got into carving candles is Nancy, but she doesn't post here either any more. She had some changes happen and sort of went away from candle making. 

You can find Bruce on FB though. 

Your question with the problems you were having on another post, have you tried talking to your wax supplier? I ask, because the guys I deal with have been quite helpful when I've had questions (though not candle carving granted, but someone should know.) 

Wish I could help you out, but while I have a great interest in these, I don't do them because I don''t have the space for the set up. I do, however, own a candle carving book that I wish I could put my hands on to see if it even addresses the question, but apparently I've hidden it from myself. 

• 2 weeks later...

I carve, but have found that unless it's something unique like my lighthouse carvings, people just do not buy them. The traditional unity type candles? They ooh and aah over them, but 99 times out of 100 will walk away empty handed.