HELP with PVC pipe as candle mold..

Hi, everyone! I'm new here but I've been making candles for about 2 years. I make tumbler candles with a one pour creamy wax and 100% beeswax taper candles. I love working with beeswax.

I'm a nun in a monastery and would love to make our own candles. Our altar candles are 1.25 x 23. I have tried using a PVC pipe but even with spraying with silicone and freezing the mold the candle is very, very hard to pull out.

Does anyone have any ideas? I would love to get a mold for these but so far haven't found a company who will do it.

The Sisters want me to make our Paschal candle but I have visions of a huge candle I can't get out of the mold!

Thanks!

Sr.M. Catharine

Just a thought, what if you use wax paper or a silicone wrap of some kind that withstands heat in the mold and then grease the side that would be exposed to the heat of the wax? Just wondering if it would pull out more easily and if it would unwrap.

I'd maybe try spraying with Pam or a cooking spray and see if that works easier than the silicone mold release. Am not about to say it will, but it might be worth a try or some other form of mold release.

Scented, you can correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought at one point in time there was a candlemaker from the old CandleTech boards that was making molds out of PVC pipe. If memory serves me right, he would use the wax paper as a liner but he would also spray the paper with a mold release - his candles came out with relative ease. I agree to try with Pam Cooking Spray, just make sure that you wipe the candles down very well before you use them.