Emulsified Sugar Scrub Recipe

Cami

:confused: Hello Everyone,

I've been working on sugar scrub recipes for the last several months. I've researched the internet, and found most scrub recipes that are very oily. I came upon your site today, and hoping someone can help.. I have not had much luck in finding an non oily based sugar scrub. Everything I have tried has been too oily for one of our clients. If you have a emulsified recipe you would be willing to share, please do... I could use the help..

Thanks Cami

Unfortunately, that's what sugar scrubs are: oils and sugar. I use e-wax in mine so that the oils and the sugar don't seperate, but it's still oily. It rinses right off, and most of my customers love it. I make a shower scrub as well that is suspension shower gel and apricot seed...it's exfoliating and cleansing, but without the oiliness. That may work...? Hopefully someone can chime in that has a non-oily recipe, but as far as I know, there are none. :(

• 2 weeks later...

I've got my recipe down so that it doesn't separate now-emulsified for sure, even without Ewax!! :)

I think the reason behind using the oils with the salt and/or sugars is that it's conditioning/moisturizing while it exfoliates.

I agree, if you're looking for one without oils of any kind, you could use a bath gel type base, or even a good no oily/greasy lotion base with maybe some FBB in it along with your sugars/salts.

HTH

I have a hard time keepng my scrubs emulsified. I add the e-wax as well as emulsifying conditioner to mine, but they still seperate. I think I am giving up on them, especially since I can't sell the darn things.

In the winter they do fine, but our summers are so hot, that I think it melts the butters I use, even the harder butters like cocoa.

But yes, they are still oily.

Here's a link to some recipes I found... I haven't tried any of them, but it may give you a good starting point to experiment on your own.