Mainly I want to complain! lol

cable_stacy

I have had several customers order candles then never pay or pick them up! I am just starting out here and I dont really have "stock". I usually just do orders ..........so when I recieve an order I spend my money to fill that order,expecting the customer to pay for their order......yeah you all know how the chain goes. Anyway, I dont have a lot of extra money to put into this adventure of mine anymore..........I LOVE doing it and want to do these orders. Should I start having new customers prepay? Is that too much to expect? Advice? Please! lol

Morning,

I sell other thing besides candles (I do crochet too) and what I have always done is ask for a 3rd as down payment so this way it will pay for the cost of supplies. And if they don't come and pick up the items you are not out of your money to make them...

Jeanna

I would definitely get the money up front if at all possible. I sell a lot to the ladies in my law school's office. I don't require them to pay upfront because I know they always pay promptly and I have never had a problem before. However, anyone else is required to pay upfront. My MIL's friends like to order and ask to pay later, but I gently explain that I require payment upfront before I begin to make their order. That way, if something comes up later, I am not stuck with an order that has not been paid for. I have a card with my return policy on it, so they know that if there is a problem, they can get their money back. It is a sticky situation to be in, but I have found many times that people who don't want to pay upfront have been the ones I have had problems with not paying at all.

I had a lot of customers that I'd deliver to, then they'd pay me in a couple of days or they'd only have part of it, then I'd get the rest next week...etc.

These were all regular, repeat customers, so I knew I'd get my money, but there were times when I'd have up to $200 out there to be collected.