double wick impaired?

Why can't I get double wicking down? I'm using 50/50 Joy - EZ soy in 4" apothecary jar, 2 RRD 55 with a heavier fragrance. 1st and 2nd burns are beautiful then when it starts to get down into the jar the flames get wimpy, I get an oval melt pool, and the wicks look like they're almost ready to go out. I've tried CD 14's and had the same thing happen with an oil that wasn't heavy. I've tried spacing them farther apart and closer together and have the same problem. Is it possible that 2 flames are sucking the oxygen out of the container once they get to a certain point in the jar and suffocating? Is it possible that too large of a wick could cause this? I know I'm reaching here but there are tons of people who successfully double wick these jars, why am I such a failure :cry2: How far apart do you double wickers space your wicks and what type of wick have you found that works well for this? TIA for any help!

I am not experienced with using the RRD's or that mix of waxes, I use the HTP's which are very similar to the CD wicks. I think the double CD wicks you are using would be too much for that jar. Others do it differently, but I space mine evenly across the jar. I don't know if this is helpful, but I found this in my jar testing. I found that any jar that had a neck/chimney, like the keepsake, apothecary or the 8 oz square mason always had a tendancy to burn hotter, then the wide mouth mason jars I am testing now. I had real issues trying to double wick the 8 oz square mason, even the smallest HTP wicks doubled in it were too hot. The wide mouth jars are completely open and I found that they have a more consistant burn. I am using the same wicks I used in my 3 1/2 keepsakes in my 3" dia. widemouth masons with success. I think I got a little off the path here, but I am not sure it is the wicks. Could be your wax combo, the amount of FO, or the jar. Sorry not much help.