New to the Forum - Problems with Wicks

JAVAEBOY

Hello everyone. I have been looking around and this seems like a great place to get some very useful information.

A little about myself. I have been making Gel Candles for about 4 or 5 years now. Started out just as a few Christmas presents, did a few very minor craft shows at work, and now trying to venture out into the larger festivals and such. My family is spurring me on.

Now my questions. Sorry if this get a little long....

I have been having trouble finding good wicks to use in my larger gel candles. I had only been using the wicks and gel available at the large craft stores, (Michaels, AC Moore, etc.) they are from Yaley. I had been staying away form the zinc core versions because of the discoloration in the clearer gels I have been using. My problem with the non-zinc cored, though is that they fall in the melt pool if the candles burn too long.

Since I am trying to make a go of it on the outside, I wanted to try to find a large wick that would work in a martini glass first, and give me a larger melt pool than I was experiencing with my medium size wicks from Yaley. I talked to the candle supply distributor that I have bought some of my incidentals from and asked their advice. They recommended and sent me samples of HTP-1212 and Cotton Core 62-52-18 wicks.

Here are my problems.

1. Although I am getting a somewhat larger melt pool with them, I still would need to put multiple wicks (4) to get a total melt pool on the top of the candle, and that I have read here is dangerous due to the high temperature that the gel may reach. Also, the wicks need to be put in at an angle to get the desired effect.

2. The HTP-1212 wicks have a noticeable trail of smoke leading from the wick itself while it is burning.

3. The 62-52-18 Cotton Core wicks seem to be dropping alot of debris in the gel.

4. Both wicks smoke intensely when extinguished.