? about making Soy Candles

Ok this is my first time making soy candles and I am really getting frustrated. I thought soy candles would look creamy but I must be doing something wrong.

Ok to start I am using wax soy 125 from candlewick.com

I melted it to 175, and then I added the color to it until I got it right. Then I turned the heat off and when it got to around 155 I poured in my scent, then at around 150 I poured into my warm container. I let it cool completely by itself and didn’t burn it until 3 days later.

But the top look horrible. I did read somewhere that the top would need to be heated up again to fix it but this is not like what I expected. It looked like the top layer came apart from the rest of the candle, like there where a bunch of air bubbles under it. And then when I picked at them with a tooth pick there seamed to be a little liquid there too.

Well I did some more research and found another way to pour the candle. It said the heat wax until 175, then add color and scent, then take off burner and let it sit until it is around 100, when it starts to cloud over, then stir and pour into room temp container.

Well I tried that to (I re-melted the wax out of the container used in the above) and it was fine not flakiness on the top but it did sink in just a little bit in the middle (could it be from re-melting the wax), and it was a lot more clean up, harder to clean pouring pot because there was more wax left behind (which seams like a waste to me also).

So if anyone can please give me any pointers I would greatly appreciate them. I bought 50 lbs of this wax so I am hoping this starts to turn out a little better.

Antonia

What you are experiencing is pretty normal for soy wax. Generally the plain soy likes to be poured slushy the way you tried it the second time, and yes there is typically more left behind in the pouring pot when you do that.