are gel candles safe

Canyonhorses

Hi

I am new to candles. I am wanting to try making gel candles. I have been researching on the net and thought like any other candles if you follow the safety rules they would be ok. But the other day I had a gal personally tell me she tried making gel candles and had them blow up. I guess she does make some others. I didn't ask her what kind of gel she used or any other details like I should have. I would like your opinions on this topic.

Thank You

Paula

A gel candle if made properly is a perfectly safe candle well as safe as any other candle. They don't blow up. What happen is for some reason or another the wax get to hot and the glass breaks when that happen it sounds like a shotgun blast.

We put this together to help new gel people.

http://www.candletech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2957

Well the same can be said for wax candles. The wife and I was burning a commercially made wax candle on our fireplace mantle about a year ago. We had burnt it before. It was burnt down maybe half way...if that much. We heard a loud pop and there was wax on the wall and mantle and pieces of glass on the mantle and floor.

So, now I'm wondering ....does that mean wax candles are unsafe and explode. No.

It just means there was some type of defect...probably in the glass. It happens. No matter how careful you are. Glass can have a defect that you really don't see or notice. The glass gets hot. It expands...and pop...you hear what sounds like a little explosion.

Now you know why they put warnings on candles ...especially ...DO NOT LEAVE A BURNING CANDLE UNATTENDED.

Hope this answers your question...there are other reasons why a candle might explode... like not mixing your FO with your gel or wax completely..and it leaves a pocket of unmixed FO. when the wick flame hits it..it doesn't actually explode ...it flares up.

Bill

Jacksonville Fla