Hello All

Hey everyone. Im new to the forums. I was reading them heavily and signed up for a new account literally minutes before the crash. Then I couldn't sign in, so I signed up again and I think the second registration did the PC in. :D

So I would like to say hello to everyone and I have some questions I would like to ask. Im new to candle making. I ordered some cargill C-3 Soy wax (10lbs) and a few 4 oz. FO's. I am very unhappy with the hot throw of the candles I made. The cold throw seems ok. Then I read somewhere that curing might be the issue, So I let them cure for over a week and still the same result. I can barely even tell that the candles are scented. One tip I picked up from the forums was to pour at a lower temp which seemed to help reduce wet spots and made for smooth tops. I guess one of my biggest questions is whether I should be mixing FO's by volume or weight. I put an unmeasured amount of wax in the wax melter (presto pot with spigot) I measure out 1 fluid ounce of FO in a seperate container and then when the wax is melted to approximately 175 degrees I pour 16 fluid ounces of melted wax into a pouring pot and mix the 1 fluid ounce of FO, stirring for a few minutes. Then I let the mixture cool to about 100 to 110 degrees, give it some stirring then pour into an apothecary jar with a tabbed wick already glued to the jar. After looking into a few candle supply places I realize that they sell FO by weight and not fluid ounces. So I'm wondering if maybe I should be doing the mixing by weight and not by fluid ounces. Based on the praises of Peak candle supplies on this board I ordered and received today some Ecosoya CB-135 and 3 different FO's and a sample FO which was very cool. I am going to give it another go tonight. Also I ordered tabbed HTP 104 wicks. The apothecary jars I am using are 4 inches in diameter, So based on Ecosoya's recommendation I will use 2 wicks in each jar. I chose HTP 104 from the list of wicks if using 2 wicks in a jar of