So I am fairly new to candle making. I’ve been trying at it for the past 6 months and of course like everyone else, the frustration has set in. I am currently using 4oz and 8oz tin containers and using c3 wax. My struggle is figuring out what size/type of wick I should use for my candles. I am not getting a strong hot scent throw. The current fragrances that I have been using come from Justscents.com. 

I am currently testing different wicks to see what would work best. I purchased sample wicks packets with all different sizes of wicks. Some of the ones that I have are Premier, HTP, CD and ECO. Does anyone have any suggestions on the type of wick I should use and size based on the information I provided? 

If you need any any other information please let me now so I can provide. Any assistance will be great appreciated! 

Picture below is me testing the HTP 93 m wick. I let it burn for about 2 hours. 

image.jpg

image.jpg

We could definitely use some more information please.

And I'm a little confused, you said you are using tins, but that is a jar. What size is that?

I use HTPs, and in a 16oz jar I would only use a 93 on a very heavy fragrance. If that was a picture after a 2 hour burn, I would say that candle is very over wicked. 

Can you give us the exact size of your containers? As well as the FO load like Scented asked for, and since its soy wax, how long are you letting it cure?

18 hours ago, Testing123 said:

what is the diameter of that jar

@Testing123 the jar that is shown is a 6 oz straight sided jar. The diameter is 2 1/2 inches. 

@Scented I am using 1 ounce of fragrance oil for every pound