Mini Mason Jar Candle

Here is a pic of a new batch made with C3 + 10% Coconut wax and 1Tablespoon USA per #, LX12 wick.  This batch is strictly essential oils and burning way different than my C3, USA, FO did.

This is 1.5 hrs in, getting a pretty big mushroom and melt pool is  deeper than previous testing.1309022772_tinymasonjar.thumb.jpg.fa7b474f4021fda493a42397d0c9d39d.jpg

If i had to guess i would say if you added coconut wax to it and used the same wick size as plain c3 you would probably be need to test different wick sizing as the coconut wax might have changed it enough to cause issues.  I am rather new to candle making but that is what i think is the issue.

Edited by ncraiders

You’re going to have trouble with any jar with a narrowed shoulder and neck like that with soy and coconut. I have tried every combination and have yet to find anything that works well enough to trust. That coconut disrupts the way that soy burns in such a way that it will go liquid the whole way through if you let that keep burning.

Wicking down doesn’t often help because the heat is still trapped in that glass and is transferred through the rest of the solid wax. That remaining wax now is a higher temperature and melts easier. The wick just can’t keep up. 

• Like 1