Suggestions!

Hey everyone! I am new to not only this forum but to making candles as well! I am having a great time making candles, but I am new and I realize the importance of learning from the seasoned people in the group here. I wanted to ask a few questions but also wanted to hear things you struggled with in the beginning and have since learned from! Open to all opinions :)

1) I am currently using 464 GW, soy. I set the candles with the Eco 10 wick. I have been pouring into 4oz and 8oz jars. There are so many opinions on wax and the 464 seems to be the best for less frosting and bubbling, however there are bad reviews. What is your experience?

2) I eventually want to make a business of this. I heard shipping them in hot areas can deform the product (464) Any insight to that and will changing the wax greatly change the HT?

3) I'm using the Eco 10 wick. It seems like there is some tunneling on the first candle I burned. The mason jar is about 2.5in wide, which is recommended by CandleScience. Insight on this issue?

4) I only burned one, as I have heard to let them cure for a week or two. What's the average time you let your cure for? Do you get better HT when you let them sit longer? Is there a too long?

5) Any insight and experiences that could save me a huge headache relating to wax, FO, etc. would greatly help!

I know this will take time to make this into a business and get the formulas down, but I am willing to learn and screw up to make the best product I can! Thanks ahead of time for your responses!

• Like 1

Hi & welcome, 

I use the same wax as you are using for my soy candles, but I've never used the Eco wicks ... however, I have a file with all sorts of wick notes and I just took a look.  According to the notes I have, a 2.5" diameter jar would call for an Eco-4 or 6 ... maybe if I bump your post someone with experience with these wicks will chime in.