People recommending 12% fragrance

I'm in a few groups on Facebook, and there are always lots of people struggling with hot throw. Every single time, without fail, everyone responds with, "up your fragrance to 12%." Now, I'm still a newbie myself, so I really don't have any room to talk. But that hardly seems like it should be the only solution? Throw more fragrance at it. MORE FRAGRANCE. Pretty much every supplier I've seen recommends 6% for almost every wax. Maybe a bit more for soy sometimes. I was just wondering what some of you more experienced chandlers thought about that.

Many of us use the standard 6% fragrance load. For some soy waxes the average goes up to 8%. These are just averages thou and some FOs only need as little as 3% while others may need 9-10% Those are generally the exceptions.

If you are making candles for personal use you could use whatever FO load you want. But if you go over the manufacturers recommendations for that wax by adding more FO it may cause oil seepage which can get quite messy. Plus burning a candle with a that oil floating around could become a potential fire hazard.

I find the majority of FOs I only need 6% FO load for my wax. Since I run a small business if I were to load all my candles at 12% I would not be in the business long.

Another factor to keep in mind is more does not necessarily equate to a stronger throw. Often subtle fragrance notes can be lost when an overloaded fragrance burns in a candle. That's something new chandlers have trouble wrapping their head around but it can happen.

The only time I would use more than 6% is for the occasional FO that is light. I even use the same % for my wax melts and they are strong at 6%.