coconut wax pro n cons

hello candlers, I'm new to this hobby. I have only used coconut wax. I've been ready on this this forum  and now i'm a little concerned.lol

should I blend it with something else?

could someone share a the best blend they came up with. 

what is the best wick with that blend

my vessel isTop Diameter: 2 7/8" 
Bottom Diameter: 3 1/4"
Height: 4 1/8"
Capacity: 12 oz. (measurements from website)

use eco wicks. Is that the best wick with my coconut83 wax?

In my case of beads (which is supposedly coconut 83) in that size I would start with either an eco 4 or an eco6. A lot depends on the fragrance and how diligent the person burning the candle is about trimming prior to lighting.

that size container will build a lot of heat by the middle, and the flame will begin to dance a lot. Over and under wicking, and improper trimming, will lead to soot. Toward the end of any container I have used that wax in there is some amount of soot. 

if you want to blend, prepare to take a lot of good notes. Think about what your end goal is with a blend. Is it to make it more firm? Extend the burn? Clean the burn? Change the throw? Reduce the cost? Whatever your goal that will help direct your choice of additives. I find I like it as-is with 6% fragrance and a drop of liquid color in my status jars. 

Some places recommend using stearic acid up to 15%. I would recommend blending at the lowest ends of the recommendations first, and allowing plenty of cure time when adding anything to see the results the best. 

Soy wax has stearic as a natural component, so adding it will help slow the burn, but will change the characteristics too.

ive blended in up to 10% beeswax, sunflower wax, high melt point paraffin, etc. and disliked the resulting burns. You may like them. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

10 hours ago, TallTayl said: