No HT with GW 464

I am very new to candle making, so please bear with me (and speak to me using layman's terms! Lol!) I am using GW 464, melting to 185, adding 6% FO, stirring for 2 full minutes, pouring anywhere between 135-145 and curing for a minimum of 3 days. CT is always great, but HT not so much. I've tried various oils from different companies. For the most part, I'm using 8 oz jelly jars and ECO 14 wicks. Any advice? (without adding paraffin) Thank you in advance! :)

• Like 1

I use 464 and for the jelly jars use a cd 8 or cd 10 with a cure time of (2 WEEKS)  3 days is not any cure time.  Don't know anything about the ecos.

What oils are you using and where from?  Some oils are not compatible with waxes too.

Trappeur

• Like 1

An eco 14 in a smallish vessel like a jelly jar is too much wick for 464 in my experience. By the middle of the jar it will become extremely hot. 

To echo the above responses, 464 needs a much longer cure to perform. 

I would wick down. If using eco, I would start my testing with an eco 4 or 6 if the jelly jar is about 2.5” wide in the current 464 with no other additives.

• Like 3

On 2/13/2018 at 10:09 AM, Trappeur said:

I use 464 and for the jelly jars use a cd 8 or cd 10 with a cure time of (2 WEEKS)  3 days is not any cure time.  Don't know anything about the ecos.

What oils are you using and where from?  Some oils are not compatible with waxes too.

Trappeur