Standards/Expectations for Wax Melts

Sebleo

I made candles many years ago as a hobby. Now I am making wax melts and have been testing and researching for close to a year. I would like to launch in the spring.

Most of my reviews have been great. But a few have been so so. The so so reviews come from people that are using them in very large, open spaces... kitchen and dining combo and kitchen, dining, and living room combos. They say they smell great but not as strong as they would like.

I have been researching forum and review sites like mad for the last 6 months trying to figure out what the norm is or what people are getting from other wax. I have purchased many wax melts to compare to mine as well.

Reviews are all over the place but one thing that is consistent is one person' "lasts a long time" does not equal the next persons "lasts a long time"

What is the norm? What do you set up as your parameters? As in, what size space do you try to fill and for how long?

• 2 weeks later...

Ok, a follow up question that may be easier to answer.  Is there a market for wax melts that last 25-40 hours per ounce with a throw in just one or two rooms? 

All the other melts I have tested seem to throw into a larger space, but only for 4 to 6 hours then they fade out. I feel good about the longevityof mine, but am concerned with the space the fragrance fills. 

Any thoughts?

Wax melt throw has a lot to do with the type of melter I find. Then add in the variable of the air current in the house itself. It may be that your melts perform vastly different in your house than mine. 

If you are confident in your product, and your brand, then you can find a market for anything. 

• Like 3

On 1/5/2018 at 5:55 PM, Sebleo said:

Ok, a follow up question that may be easier to answer.  Is there a market for wax melts that last 25-40 hours per ounce with a throw in just one or two rooms?