Newbie Here from Florida

Rivermist_Chris

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to the forum so bear with me.  When I was 10 years old, back in the stone age, my oldest sister made candles when she was in high school and made a pretty good profit.  I was a goofy kid and followed her around like a puppy, so I learned from her; melting the wax, adding color and scent, making the wick stick up straight, etc.  Much of the process has stuck with me, but I haven't made a candle in 20 years, and then I flew by the seat of my pants.  Fast forward to today, I now work in ceramics.  Someone from a Facebook pottery group  suggested this forum after I asked a question about candle making.  My daughter throws on the wheel and I handbuild, and we sell at vending events, on Etsy and consign at an artisan boutique.  The other evening I got this brainy idea to turn some of our containers that have not been moving into candles. 

Again, I am not a complete beginner, but boy have things changed since 1971!!!!  Sometimes reading the forums here is like reading Greek.  But then I'm sure I know pottery terminology that y'all would be stumped by.  Back in the day, the only candle wax we had a choice of was paraffin.  There were no beads.  There was no such thing as a wood wick. Now the choices of supplies make your head spin! 

I may be asking a lot of "newbie" questions if I can't find answers in the forums.  Thanks for letting me play with y'all. 

• Like 1

Hi! I was the one who mentioned this forum to you 😊

Glad you decided to give us a visit.

you will find a couple of potters here who also make candles, and a LOT of skilled chandlers who can help with any wax you choose.