Cost of Shipping Wax, Worth?

So I've become interested in making candles and didn't think too much on shipping costs. It turns out anywhere I look the shipping cost is outrageous. I was only going to start with 10lbs of wax to try because I've never made any candles and that cost of 10lbs like $15.60. The shipping cost is over $20! I planned on making and selling the candles but with shipping costing more then the price of the wax itself I will out to price candles way more then they would need to be. I've looked at the supplier list on this website and only one sells for my state and offers same shipping rate. The lowest I found was $16 shipping and that still cost more then wax itself.

I'm new to this stuff, is this was the price of shipping is normally? I'd look for somewhere close and pickup but nothing close and I'm not going to spend 5 hours driving just to not spend on shipping.

I'm afraid you are going to find that shipping prices are gonna be high everywhere you look. You're best bet is to comparison shop.

Also, always buy your candlemaking products from a reputable candle supplier. One that specializes in candle supplies so you know exactly what and what brand you are buying. This will play an important role in your testing when a question about a specific wax comes up.

Once you get more into candlemaking you can buy in larger bulk quantities which will start saving you money. Buying wax in 10lb increments will almost always cost more than the wax. Once you start buying in 55lb bag quantities the price becomes more economical.

• Like 3

I started out buying 10 pounds of wax too, but soon was buying 50 pounds at a time.  Sometimes I buy from The Candlemaker's Store.

Let's do some rough math......

GW444 wax 50 lb - $58.00

Shipping                 - $27.00 (rounded off)

Total for 50 lb      - $85.00