New to Candle Making

Tammy Bagwell

Hello All, 

I am new to candle making and have been surfing the web with tons of information and of course varying preferences. I’m beginning with the intent to start a business. My questions are as follows for anyone who can respond is most appreciated. 

1) preference in candle wax with the best burn longevity and fragrance

2) preference of wicks that work best with the corresponding wax

3) containers, I’m thinking about wine bottles?? Where can you purchase specialty containers for a reasonable price? 

4) can your pour candle wax in pottery as it can be pourous or can you coat the inside with something to keep it from breaking when lit? 

Sorry for so many questions and I appreciate any recommendations of where to look that provides greater detail on these items in question.

Regards, 

Tammy

Edited by Tammy Bagwell

Hello Tammy and nice to meet you!   You have certainly come to the right place to learn about the candle world.   Members here are stellar and very warm, encouraging and just great to be around.   So many chandlers here with so much knowledge it's unbelievable.

Not to be sharp, abrupt or anything but the first 2 questions you asked you will find all your answers if you go to the main page with all the headings and read all the subtitles under general candle making, veggie waxes, and go to the fragrance section.  So many come here and everyone we welcome and just love meeting new members who are newbies and experienced wise chandlers.  The same questions #1 and #2 are being asked it seems just about every day, so we don't all have to keep repeating over and over the same thing, just go and read and your answers are right there.  Also use the search box and type in what you are looking for and you will find so many discussions in all sorts of areas.

Now as far as using wine bottles, I have never seen them for sale anywhere.  I think most people make their own.