hello! 😊

michellem

Hi, there!

My name's Michelle and I started making candles about a year and a half ago. It all started when I attended a candle making workshop at my local yoga studio. It was so much fun! Soon after I bought a kit and made candles with friends. A few months later, I bought 50 pounds of c3 wax and a bunch of FOs from General Wax (a local candle factory in Los Angeles) and threw a candle making party for my birthday. I love working with my hands and even though candle making is a lot of trial and error, I've really been enjoying the process. I learn something new every time I pour :) 

I'm on a mission to learn how to make candles that look great and have amazing H/C throw. I use c3 soy wax and have been experimenting with wicks and FOs. I've tried so many wicks (HTP, CD, ECO) and have gotten better at choosing the right size wick for my containers (bigger is always better with c3!). I'm still learning how to use FO. I use 3oz for every 1lb of wax but haven't gotten a great HT yet. I buy my FOs from Flaming Candle Company and General Wax. I've heard great things about Candle Science FOs, so may try them next.

I was so happy to find this forum and am blown away by the community and camaraderie. I look forward to connecting and interacting with you! I'm a newbie but HTH however I can! 

• Like 2

5 minutes ago, michellem said:

I use 3oz for every 1lb of wax but haven't gotten a great HT yet.

Welcome! I’ve found Lots of nice folks giving great advice and years worth of topics to read on here. 

I might be wrong, but it might be that you’re using too much FO per pound.  

My my understanding is 1oz FO per 1lb wax is about 6%. (I think 6% is actually 0.9oz). I often use 1.6oz per pound which should be 10%. (1lb is 16oz)

3oz per pound would be like 20+%?

seems like I heard talk about too much FO not burning correct. 

• Like 1

Velcome! Velcome... Zo glad you could jion uz here... Lotz ov great candlez makingz here...