Hi from SoCal

Incendia

Hi. I've been bit by the candle bug again. I've been making candles on but mostly off for several decades. (Yes, I am old) I started in my first apartment when still in school and used canning parawax, crayons for color, and string for wick. Needless to say, they didn't burn very well. But it was fun.

Over the years I've revisited making candles numerous times, but have never tried to sell any, and have no aim to do so. When I was younger, I did supplement income doing craft shows, stores, etc , selling mainly paper products - cards, calendars etc. I've done a lot of calligraphy, and also make paper and do paper marbling. I've dabbled in stained glass and mosaics. Even made soap a few times. I first studied art in college, but ended up in biology. They seem very different, but beauty is beauty.

Back to candles - I'm one of those poor souls who buys used candles at yard sales and re-melts them. Fortunately I do not need to have reproducible results. My aim is to make pretty, creative candles that burn well, and smell good. I do buy wicks, scents, and occasionally wax. But mostly I wing it and am generally pleased with the results. If not... double, double toil and trouble, fire burn and cauldron bubble ... they get re-melted to live again.

I'm currently greatly enjoying myself with this hobby, and am very pleased to have found this forum with so many knowledgeable people who are willing to share. I've already spent several days reading threads and making candles with new information.

Glad to be here. :)

Incendia, it's nice to meet you.  Please join in here with the rest of us.  It's great to get laughs of how we started.  There are so many of us here that you will fit right in.  Don't be embarrassed by anything.  We all have been there and done that and still do!  So come join us.  It's really a  great board, no one is nasty or cut throat here.  It's like family.....So welcome!  And we LOVE pictures!

Trappeur