Anyone ever made doughnut tarts?

JustaMoM1

Has anyone made doughnut tarts before? I am a newbie and wanting to do this. I have bought molds that are really small, less than an ounce. I didn't want the large ones. Or should I have gotten the big ones?  They are halve molds. IDK if they are supposed to be this way?? I had ALOT of trouble putting the icing on the outside. It kept cooling way too fast UGH and getting clumpy. I am getting frustrated but I know there is a way to do this......any tips or tricks would be helpful...THANKS!!!!

I would maybe try keeping the wax a little hotter -and maybe spoon it over the wax donuts ? Not too hot though so it possibly melts the wax donuts.

If you have a wire rack place some of the wax donuts on the rack ( Id cover with wax paper or a silicone mat) how are you doing it right now ?

Hello...Thank you for your reply..I am just placing them on wax paper, flat. I tried spooning it first, then it was cooling too fast. That is where it started getting clumpy as it was hitting the wax. I just used a regular spoon. Then I warmed it up a little hotter and the doughnut started to melt. ...I just don't know what I am doing wrong to try to make the doughnut glaze.

I don't do this kind of thing.  About the most adventurous I get is chunk tarts and layers, but I do watch a lot of youtube videos...LOL.  I have no idea really, and am just theorizing here, but I would think you could pour your "icing" about 10 degrees hotter than your original pour, and just pour it over the top, following the shape of the doughnut so it would drizzle down.  The small pour pot or a measuring cup with a spout should work for the pouring part.

And if I am completely misunderstanding what you are trying to do, please disregard my post.  Good luck!

• Like 1

If you're looking to make them looked "iced," I think you may be thinking of over-dipping in a sense.