Candle Lingo

So, I am slightly overwhelmed. 

Hot/Cold Throw?

OF? 8564? I have no idea what all these numbers or acronyms mean LOL Is there a lingo reference? I am a newbie. Where do I even start (besides here ;) )? is there a book that will explain all this? What kind of wax to buy? Fragrances? What wicks? Is it a waste of $$ to buy a kit? I am definitely overwhelmed with my brief excitement of making my own candles LOL 

• Like 2

A candle's throw has to do with the scent ... if or how it "throws" it off when either not lit or while burning.  Typically, numbers have to do with product codes of various waxes.  I'm new here too so I sometimes have to look up abbreviations of supplier's names, which I found in the fragrance discussion area.  Some kits, imo, can be a waste because you end up buying some things you may not really want.  To simplify, I would start with what type of candle you would like to make.  A container?  Then select a container you'd like to start with and you can then explore the various types of waxes available for that type of candle.  The diameter of the jar will play a role in what size wick to get; the type of wax will narrow down your choices of what type of wick.  And scent -- a world of possibilities, with an addictive side, as you know.  :)

• Like 2

If you ever have questions about terminology, don't hesitate to jump in and ask. Most of the "lingo" is pretty easy to understand once you've spent time on this forum. I've been at this hobby for a year and a half now, and I still sometimes Google the number of a wax or wick that I see mentioned but am not familiar with just so I can learn about it.