Soy Wax & Essential Oil

Hello everyone,

I am new to soy wax candle making. I am here because I was wondering in your experience Is It ok to use essential oils in soy wax candles. I have been researching and for the most part is the general answer is yes but I am left wondering if it is even worth spending money on expensive essential oils rather then fragrance oils.

I've read that fragrance oil have better scent throws then essential oils but sometimes i am not a fan of fragrance oils because some of them tend to have a synthetic smell to them. So far i have experimented with an 8 oz candle with a total of 20 drops of a mix of amber and sage essential oils, I am currently waiting for that to cure so i can light and test it. With that being said I have the following questions.

1. Is It ok to use essential oils in soy wax candles?
  2. What is the general rule of thumb for the amount of essential oil to 1 lb of soy wax?
  3. What is a good temperature to add essential/fragrance oils to the soy wax?
  4. What is a good temperature to pour the soy wax into a glass jar?
  5. Is It ok to mix essential oils and fragrance oils for soy wax candles?

Any help is really appreciated! :)

Guest OldGlory

I started my business in 2001 with essential oils in soy wax.

1. It's ok to use essential oils in soy wax.

2. I would start using 1/4-1/2 the amount of EOs that you would use with FOs - but there is no rule. Some EOs require more, some require less. Peppermint in one that you need far less EO than FO.

3. FOs are made to be used at pretty high temps. I generally add FOs between 160-180. It's important that the FO binds to the wax, and if it doesn't bind you will see little bubbles/puddles of FO in the bottom of your pouring pot. And you will have to heat the mixture until they bind.  EOs burn off quickly in high heat so your wax needs to be cooler.

4. Follow your wax guidelines for the temp at which to pour your candles. Websites offer that info.