MAY 2016 Soap of the Month

sherry

MAY 2016 Soap of the Month

Cold Processed 100% Coconut oil Soap

This is a recipe that lot of people make on line I got mine from a friend and formulated the way I wanted it I have been making this recipe for my Granddaughters for 4 years now and became a favorite of lot of her students at her school. 

IMG_20160422_205909668 (585x640).jpg                 

Equipment needed:

A good working digital scale

Large enough container to hold a 48 ounces oil batch of soap

Stick blender

1 container for lye one-container for water

Paper towels to rest your Stick blender

Thermometer

Wooden sticks

1 small container for the extra oils

1 small container for the Essential oils,

Freezer paper if needed to line your mold,

Soap Mold for 48 oz of oils

And rubber gloves

Ever since I start making soap 10 years ago I use a water discount 33% with all my soaps And 5% Super fat I don’t know why but this is how I do it its up to you  if you want to use full water

But in this recipe I use 

33 % water discount

20 % Superfat

So here it goes 

INGREDIENTS:

Oils for 48 oz

Coconut oil 48oz [100 %]

Essential Oils

.50 % Tea Tee oil

.50% Rosemary

.50% Clary Sage

.50 % Lemongrass

At trace

1.00 oz Hazelnut oil

1.00 oz Pomegranate oil

7.92 oz distilled water

and  7.92 Almond, coconut,  

7.04    Sodium hydroxide (formulated for 20 % superfat)

Next, weigh your 7.92 oz distilled water and lye, ALWAYS combine the lye into the water and stir with your Spoon until the mixture is clear.  Set aside to cool.  

When water and lye are cooling I mix in the Almond and Coconut 

Weigh the Coconut oil into your soap bowl and melted it down

Pictu #0.jpgPictu #1.jpg

Weigh the Essential oils and set them aside

Pictu _4.jpg

I always soap @ a room temperature

When everything is ready I start

Slowly pour the lye into the oil mixture, stick blend ONLY until you see a light trace. 

Picure_ 5.jpg