IGI 6006 vs. Pillar of Bliss Wax for tarts?

ginab65

Has anyone used either of these alone? Any opinions on which is the better wax blend? I'm new to tart making and am using Ecosoya PB currently at 10% scent load. I'm not impressed so far. It's okay but I'm kind of picky. LOL I'd appreciate any advice for a newbie. I know first thing....test, test, test. LOL

Thanks! ~ Gina 

• Like 1

Oh...one thing I noticed about Pillar of Bliss that I do love is it is granulated. Also, Nature's Garden just negotiated a 30% decrease in shipping with UPS. A 10 lb. bag of wax ships to me in VA for $11.95. That's not bad at all.  

Hi ginab65!

I've used both for tarts. I mixed a pillar wax with 6006 because it's pretty soft. I did actually pour a few with 6006 by itself and they were ok but I liked it better with some pillar wax to harden it. I liked the pillar of bliss ok, liking the fact that it was granulated, like you do. I also used KY's tart wax which is also granulated. It seems it's really similar to pillar of bliss but can't really remember for sure because I only use PofB once. It seems I liked both but now I use straight paraffin. If I was going to use 6006 again for tarts I would defiantly use at least 25% of some type of pillar wax. That would make a nice tart. I really liked KY's tart wax but, noses are so subjective. Some on here like it and some don't.

I currently use 4625 mixed with 4633 or 4630 at 50/50.

HTH

• Like 3

The 6006 always stuck to much for us and the PB threw good but not great and also frosted on occasion. We tried pillar of bliss and loved it. The granular for is so easy to use and it melts very well. We actually tracked down the manufacturer of it and bought several pallets.

Edited by Vicky_CO
editted out self promotion
  • Like 4