Smells like fuel

Hello from Finland! Im new in candle making and so grateful that I found this wonderful server. I working and testing with 4627, CS fragrance oils and LX wicks. I use glass containers (dia 3" and height 3,5"). I have problems in HT. HT is quite strong, but I can smell fuel in it. I have tested 4 different fo's and fuel smell is always there. What cause this? Can anyone help me? 

Guest OldGlory

Hmmm... are you the one who recently posted that fragrances make you sick?

The only fragrance you listed that I have tried is White Tea & Berries - no hint of a fuel smell to it for me. I think it might be your sense of smell.

Edited:

Or, it's the wax or dye if you are using dye.

Edited by OldGlory

Normally its the citrus notes or all citrus FOs as Old Glory mentioned that can cause a fuel or kerosene smell. It can be fixed by adding a touch of vanilla FO. If that doesn't work it could be the FOs have gone bad. That is not likely to happen but on occasionally it can. Out of 10 yrs of using FOs I have had maybe 2 go bad on me and I have used thousands.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I dont use dye. I have used esosoya 135 before and now i'm using Igi 4627. I swiched ecosoya to 4627 because that fuel smell and weak ht. Fuel smell didnt go away, but ht is much better and stronger now. Could wrong size wick cause fuel smell?

Guest OldGlory

So, are you saying that you got a fuel smell and weak hot throw with ecosoya wax and 4627?

When you open the bottle of fragrance oil, do you smell fuel there? (before making the candle)

What else do you put in the wax?