Am I testing right??

Hi, I am very new to candle making. I have been researching the internet for about 6 months. I must say, this is by far the best forum. Yayyyy, so glad I found all of you. I have learned you need to test, test, test. I am working with IGI 1343 to make pillars. For each FO I have been testing 6% and 9%. For each one I make a candle using 1/16, 1/8, 1/4, 1/2 tsp. vybar. I have also been testing my wicks using 24 and 30 ply flat braid. Does that sound about right? I was told by the supplier to use 1/4 - 1/2 teaspoon of vybar but I have read on here, all you need is a pinch. I was also told it could take up to two weeks to cure. I would appreciate any feedback I can get.

Guest OldGlory

I have never used vybar in paraffin pillars, so I can't offer any help with that aspect.

How are your candles burning? How is the scent throw? Can you take pictures of the burn?

Guest OldGlory

It sounds to me as though you are pretty thoroughly following the instructions you have been given, and the different amounts of vybar should tell you something thru the appearance, and then when you start burning them. I suggest taking very specific notes because after a while you can't remember which fragrance you used in combination the dye and the amount of vybar.

The bottom line is the burn. Is it wicked correctly? Is the fragrance soft or strong? Is it burning too quickly or too slowly?

Good luck and I hope you enjoy the journey :D