Pottery bowls

TallTayl

Wow, those are wonderful! Do you have any pictures of them finished? Would love to see....Trappeujr

Class has not gotten that far yet. Supposedly they will be glazed during the last class which is the last week of Feb. so in 8 weeks i should be through the entire process for several forms.

I so want to throw some tumblers for candles!

Class has not gotten that far yet. Supposedly they will be glazed during the last class which is the last week of Feb. so in 8 weeks i should be through the entire process for several forms.

I so want to throw some tumblers for candles!

Oh, you are just getting started!!  I have been doing pottery for about 10 years now, but took a few years off several years ago.  I went back into the studio this year and now that I do candles I make a lot of things with my candles in mind.  Lidded pots, candle luminaries and this past week I made a few hand built containers to pour candles into. 

I also make both wheel thrown and hand molded soap dishes to compliment my soaps. 

Once you start it's hard not to have the ideas come pouring at you.

• Like 1

I can see how this is addictive. Trying to take a very conservative walk on this new path. Typically i dive in never caring how deep the water is. I can see a wheel and kiln in my studio, but am standing on the brake to not let them in right away. :D

I think i freaked out the teach a little when i walked into the first class with a (short) list of specific goals. The list is kind of following along with his lesson plans. I wish i could move the pace along just a weeeee bit to get through first firing and see just how much this clay shrinks! Patience is being tested i tell ya!

Do you have your own kiln chefmom? Have always wanted one, even if it is just enough for glazing and maybe some glass slumping. My inner magpie loves shiny things.

Oh yes, I have photos...good and bad.  :)  The first is one of my mugs from this year.  I love the purple glaze!!