So should I switch from GW444 to GW464?

Aztec is having a one day sale on GW464.  I've only used 444 for the past 5 years.

I know 464 has a lower melt point.  When I research the two waxes, some people love 464, others love 444.  Is there really much difference?

Thanks for any input...the sale is just today, so I need to decide quickly!

Guest OldGlory

Gail, I have heard there is little difference between the 2 waxes. For me, it wouldn't be worth all the wick and fragrance testing to switch over to save $10 a case. However, if you are considering switching permanently to 464, I can say that I have been using it for many years, and it consistently performs well for me. I sometimes get frustrated with the frosting, but I'm a type A, lol.

I would be happy to share with you any wicking info that I can if you make the change.

Gail, I have heard there is little difference between the 2 waxes. For me, it wouldn't be worth all the wick and fragrance testing to switch over to save $10 a case. However, if you are considering switching permanently to 464, I can say that I have been using it for many years, and it consistently performs well for me. I sometimes get frustrated with the frosting, but I'm a type A, lol.

I would be happy to share with you any wicking info that I can if you make the change.

One reason I've thought of switching is I've read that 464 has better glass adhesion. That hasn't been much of an issue in the past for me because I used to just make candles in cups and mugs (which I know is not generally approved of on this board.)  Now I am mostly using jars, and now you can see through the glass and see any wet spots.  :)  

Also since I've started using jars, I want to dye my wax more...for pumpkin, apple etc.  But the tops aren't as smooth when I use dyes.  There are 'sink holes' or 'craters' around the wick.  I know I can use a heat gun to fix that, but I wanted to see if using 464 would make for smoother tops.