Honest Answer

flair

I asked this question on another thread on this site but wanted to post it here to see how many responses I could get.. I am a newbie and my question is am I fooling myself to think that a homemade, hand poured candle can equal the quality of Yankee or Gold Canyon???  Can a small candle maker make the scent throws that the big time guys do??? I am just trying to find out honest answers and opinions... Thanks!! 

Yes, as said on the other post, most definitely yes and you could do even better...but it takes money, money, and time and patience and the will to succeed.  If you have a true belief in yourself, you can do it.  But it is not a get rich scheme that happens over night.  As in your other post where you stated that you want to make a business out of this to make extra income I wouldn't count on it for a long time.  To create candles and put out to the public, you have to think safety, you have to put out a candle that is properly made with correct wick, correct melt pool, you have to down the road after you have mastered even 1 jar think about how you will sell the candle; ie website, knocking on doors to stores to make a presentation to sell your product, insurance for your product.  Many things to consider.  Just the other day I was reading quite a a few blogs of how people give a supposed receipe for a diy candle that can be made and even put out to the public like school fund raisers to make extra money and it really disturbed me the responses from people reading these blogs saying they made a candle and were actually going to get with the school system as they had come up with an idea to make money by making candles....And they had only made a candle or 2.....