Not happy !!!!!

flair

So.. Let me start by saying I am a newbie and I am really looking for help. I ordered my first supplies from candle science and gave them a try this weekend.  Using golden brands 464 soy with 1 oz samples i ordered i am not getting any hot throw at ALL...  I am soooooo disappointed and dejected right now!!! Used a double boiler, melted the soy, took it all at 185 and put in my FOs, stirred it for minutes and poured it a 125 degrees... the cold throw was fine but we are burning them now and there is hardly any sent....   I put 10.5 to 11oz of the soy for a 1oz bottle of FO.  Can someone help I am about to pull my hair out....

Guest OldGlory

I would suggest going back thru some of the vegetable wax discussions and troubleshooting your process that way to start with. As a newbie, there are a lot of answers to questions you haven't even thought of yet.

And.... this is a HARD thing to master. It may take you 6 months, it may take you a year. You will spend thousands of $ before you are ready to sell. Every fragrance oil has to be tested. So take a deep breath and join the club!

I am so sorry... In my frustration I forgot to say thanks for replying .... Sorry hope both of you forgive me.... Yes it is hard but we need another source of income as soon as possible and candles are something we have loved for a long time and we really want to make a go of this because we both have a passion for it.

Hello Flair,

Ok, so if you made them Sat morning and are burning them today that would be like 2 days cure time....give or take.  They really need to sit 1 to 2 weeks to properly cure.   Just like every said, it is a long learning process and takes a lot of patience of a waiting time.  Yep, join the club....lol

Few questions......

Can you tell us what type jars your using and what wicks?   Are you single wicking or double wicking?  I would think single wicking for now.