New M & P supplier

firegirl

Hello.. I was just curious if anyone has used mysoapbase.com yet? They are located in Irvine,Ca.. Which does not really matter because shipping is FREE! This is Stephensons soap base & they also sell the foaming bath butter as well.. & yes.. Shipping is free for that as well.. They will be selling re-batch soap in 5 weeks or so. I have only purchased the foaming bath butter so far.. For me on West Coast shipping has always been a killer.. They are also starting to sell coconut oil & others as well.. Free shipping! Please share your results with their M & P bases.. I have always been a die hard SFIC fan but I will give them a try.. Teri

I'm new to melt and pour. Why are glycerin base soaps so drying to the skin. Every thing I read speaks to the contrary!

Glycerine does not dry the skin. On the contrary it draws moisture from the air and helps your skin retain moisture.

So if the base you are using is drying to your skin try another one. Not all bases are created equal. Some are very good quality while some are rather poor.

Also, many people new to using handmade soap including M&P think that the clean feeling they are experiencing is drying their skin. Not so, handmade soap cleans your skin unlike commercial soap which is actually full of detergents and harsh chemicals that leave a film on your skin. If you are using M&P for the first time you have to give yourself time to get used to the 'feel' of clean skin.

Also, try adding goat milk, shea butter, olive oil, etc. to your melted base to add more emolliency to your soap and give it extra gentleness.

Once I started using handmade soap I no longer needed to use body lotions on my skin. A well made soap should moisturize as well as be gentle on your skin. I only use lotions on my face, hands, and feet. I quit buying body lotion years ago. I don't need it because my soaps are so moisturizing.

Edited by Candybee