best wax for tarts

PrimBeginnings

Hello, I am new to this message board. I have been pouring (& selling) grubby primitive candles for a little while. I have decided to try my hand at tarts.

My formost question is about the proper wax. I see that many of you are fans of the Ecosoya PB for tarts, or have a personal recipe like 50/50 or 60/40 votive/container or even container/paraffin.

My first test was IGI 4794 and poured 1oz FO per lb (at 175). My FO came from BitterCreek North.

I passed out tarts and asked for feedback, this is what I got: can you make them softer (sticky), can you make them smell more when cold, can you make them smell stronger when burning ...

So I was wondering what should be my next test wax. For some reason, I want to avoid soy, but if it is simply a superior product that would be unwise.

should I do something like IGI 4786 & something soft like 4786? ... suggestions?

Thank you to anyone who takes the time to answer my questions. I know everyone is busy. I have been reading posts, but could of missed much, this place is large!

I would like to pour a high FO content ... like 9% plus ...

Aubrey :confused:

4794 is a good wax for tarts. I use that by itself or add CB at 25%. Either way, my tarts are very strong.

Because of shipping costs I can't buy KY's tart/votive blend but that is another very good one. Even the pillar/votive blend.

You shouldn't have to use more than 1 ounce per pound with the 4794. Maybe the Fo's you chose need more.

What is the CB you add to the 4794 and what is its purpose?

With regard to the FO, do you mean that BitterCreek North aren't quality enough, or that the particular flavors I chose need more?

Since my testers (neighbors & family) said they weren't quite strong enough, I would like them to be stronger, or have better scent through.